America - America (U.S. Edition)

America - America (U.S. Edition)
Release date:1971
Genre: Rock

In 1971 "America" released their debut album "America" . The album was initially released without "A Horse With No Name," which had not yet been recorded. When "Horse" became a worldwide hit in early 1972, the album was re-released with that track.
The album went to #1 on the Billboard album chart in the US and stayed there for 5 weeks. It produced two hit singles, "A Horse With No Name" spent three weeks at #1 on the Billboard singles chart in 1972 (it peaked at number 3 on the Adult Contemporary chart), and "I Need You" hit #9 on the Billboard singles chart and #7 on the Adult Contemporary chart.
Several other songs received radio airplay on FM stations playing album tracks, including "Sandman" (long rumored in the US Navy to be about the VQ-2 air squadron formerly based in Rota, Spain) and "Three Roses".
The album was certified platinum by the RIAA for sales in excess of 1 million units in the US.

  1. Riverside
  2. Sandman
  3. Three Roses
  4. Children
  5. A Horse With No Name
  6. Here
  7. I Need You
  8. Rainy Day
  9. Never Found The Time
  10. Clarice
  11. Donkey Jaw
  12. Pigeon Song

  • Gerry Beckley – Vocals, Guitars, Bass, Chimes, Piano
  • Dewey Bunnell – Vocals, Guitars
  • Dan Peek – Vocals, Guitars, Piano, Bass
  • Dave Atwood - Drums
  • Ray Cooper - Percussion
  • Kim Haworth - Drums
  • David Lindley - Electric Guitar