Flower Travellin' Band ‎– Anywhere

Flower Travellin' Band ‎– Anywhere
Release date:October 21, 1970
Genre: Psychedelic Rock

'Anywhere' is the debut album by Japanese Rock group 'Flower Travellin' Band' released in 1970 by Polydor Records and produced by Yuya Uchida.
The only original composition that is an original band one on here is "Anywhere" which is short a soulful blues harp piece that appears both on the beginning and the end, while it's not quite clear what the lyrics are actually saying as with other parts of the album it still shows the great performance with powerful amount of lung capacity matched with chops and bold playing.
The slightly progressive psychedelic element is quite potent and gracefully astute with a band picking up on everything so well and providing lengthy psych jam tracks.
Four long cover versions make the material 'Louisiana Blues' by 'Muddy Waters', 'Black Sabbath' by 'Black Sabbath', 'House Of The Rising Sun' and '21st Century Schizoid Man' by 'King Crimson'.
The album cover (Easy Rider-style), yet again features a daring and provocative cover with full-blown bravado especially during the time they did it and in their own more conservative country Japan, setting it as an iconic memorable cover of an album that is actually pretty promising.
    1. Anywhere
    2. Louisiana Blues
    3. Black Sabbath
    4. House Of The Rising Sun
    5. Twenty-First Century Schizoid Man
    6. Anywhere
    • Jun Kozuki - Bass
    • Joji Wada - Drums
    • Hideki Ishima - Guitar
    • Joe (Akira Yamanaka) - Vocals, Harmonica

    Frijid Pink - Frijid Pink

    Frijid Pink - Frijid Pink
    Release date:January 1970
    Genre:Psychedelic Rock

    'Frijid Pink' was one of the most successful of the many hard rock bands emanating from Detroit in the late 60’s and early 70’s. In 1970 they released their debut album 'Frijid Pink'.
    They were the first rock group from the Motor City to chart a Top Ten single, 1970’s “House Of The Rising Sun”, and the first to have their self-titled debut album crack the Top Twenty on Billboard’s Top Albums chart.
    'Tell Me Why', backed with 'Cryin’ Shame', was the first single to be released in advance of the album. Issued in 1969, it was a blast of grungy Motor City hard rock that fit right in with the recent releases by the 'MC5' and 'The Stooges'.
    It was popular in Detroit and north along the I-75 corridor, but the single might have been a little too raw to gain much airplay outside of the state.
    1. God Gave Me You
    2. Crying Shame
    3. I'm On My Way
    4. Drivin' Blues
    5. Tell Me Why
    6. End Of The Line
    7. House Of The Rising Sun
    8. I Want To Be Your Lover
    9. Boozin' Blues
    • Tom Beaudry (aka Kelly Green) - Lead Vocals
    • Gary Ray Thompson - Guitars
    • Tom Harris - Bass
    • Richard Stevers - Drums
    • Larry Zelanka - Keyboards


    Electric Food ‎– Electric Food

    Electric Food ‎– Electric Food
    Release date:1970
    Genre: Hard Rock

    'Electric Food' was a German Heavy Prog Rock band which included all "Lucifer's Friend" musicians except John Lawton.
    Who the actual band was is a mystery, as no musician credits are given, except that the debut is from the time of 'Asterix's' first single and features George "Monroe" Mavros on vocals.
    In 1970 they released their debut album 'Electric Food' and had strong influences from Led Zeppelin, Uriah Heep, and Spooky Tooth.
    Their own versions of such classics as "Whole Lotta Love","House Of The Rising Sun" and "Let's Work Together" are worth to be mentioned too.
    1. Whole Lotta Love
    2. The Reason Why
    3. Hey Down
    4. Tavern
    5. Going To See My Mother
    6. House Of The Rising Sun
    7. Let's Work Together
    8. Sule Skerry
    9. Nosferatu
    10. Twelve Months And A Day
    11. Icerose
    12. I'll Try
    • Peter Hesslein - Lead Guitar
    • George Mavros - Lead Vocals
    • Dieter Horns - Bass Guitar
    • Peter Hecht - Keyboards
    • Addy Rietenbach - Drums

    Geordie ‎– Don't Be Fooled By The Name

    Geordie ‎– Don't Be Fooled By The Name
    Release date:1974
    Genre: Hard Rock

    'Don't Be Fooled By The Name' is the second studio album by 'Geordie'.
    The album was a bit of a letdown after their debut, which merged the swagger of Hard Rock with the tuneful bombast of blue-collar Glam acts typified by 'Slade'.
    In some respects, 'Don't Be Fooled By The Name' suggests 'Geordie' were aiming for something a bit more mature and adventurous than they achieved on their debut, and they didn't entirely fail -- they reveal a tough, Bluesy side on their cover of "House Of The Rising Sun," a number that suits 'Brian Johnson's' industrial-strength pipes, and the "St. James Infirmary" lift in opening cut "Goin' Down" leans toward the same direction.
    'Mercenary Man' boasts an undercurrent of sociopolitical commentary that wasn't normally the band's stock in trade, and "Ten Feet Tall"'s dynamics and guitar work (the latter courtesy of group leader Vic Malcolm) suggests 'Geordie' had been studying their early Led Zeppelin albums.
    1. Goin' Down
    2. House Of The Rising Sun
    3. So What
    4. Mercenary Man
    5. Ten Feet Tall
    6. Got To Know
    7. Little Boy
    8. Look At Me
    • Brian Johnson - Vocals
    • Vic Malcolm - Lead Guitar
    • Tom Hill - Bass Guitar
    • Brian Gibson - Drums


    Leslie West ‎– The Great Fatsby

    Leslie West ‎– The Great Fatsby
    Release date:March 1975
    Genre: Hard Rock

    'The Great Fatsby' is the second album by Leslie West.
    It was released on Bud Prager's Phantom Records in March 1975 and distributed by RCA Records. The album features Mick Jagger on rhythm guitar.
    The album  opens with a nice and bluesy Paul Kelly tune, "Don't Burn Me," and for the post-Mountain work here, that direction works best.
    "The House of the Rising Sun" features a duet with Dana Valery and is an interesting read on the traditional tune made famous by the 'Animals'.
    The instrumental "E.S.P." might be the strongest statement here (isn't that the name of label owner Bud Prager's management firm, E.S.P.?). With 12-string guitars and superb musicianship, it's the best of West on display.
    Gary Wright makes an appearance on this album on piano, and 'The Great Fatsby' emerges as a unique look at an important rock & roll artist with some surprises tucked inside.
    1. Don't Burn Me
    2. House Of The Rising Sun
    3. High Roller
    4. I'm Gonna Love You Through The Night
    5. E.S.P.
    6. Honky Tonk Women
    7. If I Still Had You
    8. Doctor Love
    9. If I Were A Carpenter
    10. Little Bit Of Love
    • Leslie West - Guitars, Vocals
    • Gary Wright - Piano
    • Corky Laing - Drums
    • Mick Jagger - Guitar
    • Kenny Hinckle - Bass
    • Don Kretmar - Bass
    • Nick Farrentella - Drums
    • Marty Simon - Piano
    • Joel Tepp - Guitar
    • Howie Wyeth - Piano
    • Dana Valery - Vocals
    • Jay Traynor - Vocals

    The Crack In The Cosmic Egg (Part I)

    'The Crack In The Cosmic Egg' is a definitive Krautrock Encyclopedia, a guide to all the artists of the original Krautrock scene, written by Steven and Alan Freeman.
    The book has a wider scope (1968/69 up to 1985) and also incorporates worthwhile releases in the late 70s early 80s experimental weird new wave/industrial genre.
    The book led to an in-depth survey, with full discographies, pictures, extra bonus pages (compilations, archives, galleries, concerts, film) etc.
    This is a challenge for anybody in Krautrock interested in this material to write an encyclopedia about this era.
    We would like to present to you 35 artists from the book.