Collaborations And Appearances Of Carmine Appice

After the dissolution of 'Beck, Bogert & Appice' in 1973, Carmine Appice cooperates with 'Jan Akkerman' to recording the album 'Tabernakel'.

 Jan Akkerman ‎– Tabernakel
 Release date:1973
 Genre: Jazz Rock
 Tabernakel' was the second solo album of Jan Akkerman.  The album was recorded over a period of two weeks in the midst of a sweat-drenched New York summer.  George Flynn, a young music professor at the prestigious Columbia University, and a  specialist in 15th Century music, collaborated with Jan on some authentic arrangements.  Songs like "Britannia by John Dowland" and "Javeh" are mixtures of Baroque charm and modern appeal.  "Lammy" moves through the moods that are Jan's life - and death.  And "House Of'The King" rocks with an Arabian flavor.  Tim Bogert, Carmine Appice, and veteran R&B drummer Ray Lucas assisted to the album.

  1. Britannia
  2. Coranto For Mrs. Murcott
  3. The Earl Of Derby, His Galliard
  4. House Of  The King
  5. A Galliard (by Anthony Holborne)
  6. A Galliard (by John Dowland)
  7. A Pavan
  8. Javeh
  9. A Fantasy
  10. Lammy
  11. a)   I Am
    b)   Asleep, Half Asleep, Awake
    c)   She Is
    d)   Lammy, We Are
    e)   The Last Will And Testament
    f)   Amen
  • Jan Akkerman - Lute and Bass Guitar on "Britannia"
  •                 Electric Guitars and Percussion on "House Of The King"
                    Acoustic Guitar on "Javeh"
                    Electric & Acoustic Guitar, Organ, Lute and Percussion on "Lammy"
                    Lute on "Coranto For Mrs. Murcott", "The Earl Of Derby, His Galliard",
                    A Galliard", "A Pavan" and "A Fantasy"
  • Ray Lucas - Drums on "Britannia" and "Lammy"
  • Tim Bogert - Bass Guitar on "House Of  The King" and "Lammy"
  • Carmine Appice - Drums on "House Of The King" and "Lammy"
  • George Flynn - Harpsichord, Piano and Glockenspiel on "Javeh"
  •                Harpsichord on "Lammy"
  • Daniel Waitzman - Flutes on "Lammy"

In 1976 Carmine Appice playing drums on the song of Tommy Bolin 'Someday We'll Bring Our Love Home' from the album 'Private Eyes'. In 1978 be guest to the albums of Paul Stanley, Les Dudek and Stanley Clarke.

Les Dudek ‎– Ghost Town Parade
Release date:1978
Genre: Southern Rock
'Ghost Town Parade' is the third studio  album by American guitarist 'Les Dudek'.

    1. Central Park
    2. Bound To Be A Change
    3. Gonna Move
    4. Friend Of Mine
    5. Does Anybody Care
    6. Down To Nothin'
    7. Tears Turn Into Diamonds
    8. Falling Out
    9. Ghost Town Parade
    • Les Dudek - Guitars, Vocals
    • Mike Finnigan - Keyboards, Backing Vocals
    • Jim Kreuger - Guitar On #2,#4
    • Max Gronenthal - Keyboards On #1,#3,#5,#6,#7,#8,#9, Backing Vocals On #3,#7,#8,#9
    • Robert Powell - Bass On #1,#3,#5,#6,#7,#8,#9
    • Gerald Johnson - Bass On #2,#4
    • Jim Keltner - Drums On #2,#4
    • Jeffrey Porcaro - Drums On #2,#4
    • Gary Mallaber - Drums On #1,#3,#5,#6,#8,#9
    • Carmine Appice - Drums On #1,#3,#5,#6,#7,#8,#9
    • Patrick Murphy - Percussion On #1,#2,#4,#5,#6
    • Jack Bruce - Backing Vocals On #1,#5,#6


    House Of The Rising Sun ('70s)

    Historians have not been able to definitively identify 'The House Of The Rising Sun', but here are the two most popular theories:
    1) The song is about a brothel in New Orleans. "The House Of The Rising Sun" was named after Madame Marianne LeSoleil Levant (which means "Rising Sun" in French) and was open for business from 1862 (occupation by Union troops) until 1874, when it was closed due to complaints by neighbors. It was located at 826-830 St. Louis St.
    2) It's about a women's prison in New Orleans called the Orleans Parish women's prison, which had an entrance gate adorned with rising sun artwork. This would explain the "ball and chain" lyrics in the song.
    The melody is a traditional English ballad, but the song became popular as an African-American folk song.
    All began in Middlesboro, Kentucky when a music historian by the name of Alan Lomax arrived at the doorstep of a poor miner’s daughter by the name of Georgia Turner.
    Lomax was making recordings of popular folk songs sung by ordinary people in their natural environments for the Library of Congress and his travels brought him to little Georgia who was just 16, he hulked out his cumbersome presto reproducer recording machine and she sang her favourite sad song for him, an old bluesy folk tune about living a life of sin called 'Rising Son Blues'.
    It had been about for years but never committed to tape before, indeed Lomax believed it dated back to 1600’s England while others dated it to the American Civil war, either way history had been made!
    The song was recorded in 1937, from there the legendary Lomax put the song in a songbook and it spread like wildfire through the folk music scene on the east coast with versions springing up in the 1940’s from the likes of 'Pete Seeger', 'Woody Guthrie' and bluesman 'Josh White'.
    Not bad for a song warning about the perils of prostitution eh? 'The House Of The Rising Sun' was traditionally a euphemism for a bordello in English circles, and the song is really little more than a tale of woe concerning a woman’s decline into the oldest profession in the world.
    Amazing that no one really picked up on that and censored the whole thing from the start! With every passing year the songs fame grew until 'Bob Dylan' covered it on his debut album (calling it 'House Of The Rising Sun') and in 1964 a band of R&B reprobates from Newcastle in the north east of England called 'The Animals' came to record it and the face of modern music was changed for ever.
    The song ranked #122 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of "500 Greatest Songs of All Time".
    We would like to present to you 5 cover versions of the song by '70s.