Birth Control ‎– Birth Control

Birth Control ‎– Birth Control
Release date:1970
Genre: Krautrock

Amongst the longest running of German rock bands, 'Birth Control' were formed way back in 1968 as a Cologne student rock-band.
They chose their rather controversial name as a stab at Pope Paul's anti birth control policy. The original band consisted of Bernd Koschmidder (bass), Reinhold Sobotta (organ), Rolf Gurra (saxophone, vocals) and Egon Balder (drums).
In their early days, dogged by military service commitments, and ideological differences, the line-up was in flux for many years. In fact, only two original members remained by the time of their debut single, at which time they had moved base to Berlin for a while. By this time, the new core of the band Bernd Noske (drums, vocals) and Bruno Frenzel (guitar, vocals) had joined, both rapidly taking over the lead.
The Noske/Frenzel/Sobotta/Koschmidder line-up debuted with the (now rather dated sounding) pop single "October" which defined the early 'Birth Control' sound, as a hybrid of 'The Nice' and 'The Doors' really, a sound which they would push on with and make entirely their own.
Their debut album was released with a special mock birth control "pill case" type cover, and introduced them as an original hard-rock band with a classical edge, extensively featuring the keyboards of Reinhold Sobotta. Highly progressive (with a psychedelic edge) and with an original sound, they also paid homage to one of their influences with a highly creative version of The Doors' "Light My Fire".
  1. No Drugs
  2. Recollection
  3. Deep Inside
  4. Foolish Action
  5. Sundown
  6. Change Of Mind
  7. Light My Fire
  • Bernd Koschmidder - Bass
  • Reinhold Sobotta - Organ
  • Bernd Noske - Drums, Vocals
  • Bruno Frenzel - Guitar, Vocals

No comments:

Post a Comment