Creedence Clearwater Revival ‎– Creedence Clearwater Revival

Creedence Clearwater Revival ‎– Creedence Clearwater Revival
Release date:July 5, 1968
Genre: Rock

"Creedence Clearwater Revival" is the debut album by the American Rock band "Creedence Clearwater Revival", released in 1968.
The great guitar sound is in place, but there isn't much in the way of great songwriting on this album, and that kinda hurts in this case, because it also affects the overall sound.
As it is, this record does not display us the talents of John Fogerty the songwriter - most of the songs are covers, and the originals are pretty generic.
The opening "I Put a Spell On You" also deserves some serious recognition, not so much because of the song itself (done as a pretty standard gospelish/rock cover), but because of the mighty slow building of intensity in the guitar parts during the instrumental breaks that culminate in a layering of several majestic strumming parts that sounds absolutely terrific when studied closely.
Fogerty can't carry the load by himself, and when he does get going, as in two or three spots on "Suzie Q.," their big number (over eight minutes long), he has no complementation from the other members of the group. ''The Working Man'' is a fine example of a song that indeed introduces you to the world of Fogerty brothers and their music companions at that point in time.
A song that regularly gets credit in this record is ''Porterville''. It's groovy rhythm along with the obvious characteristics of psychedelia, match perfectly to the album's southern boogie-style sounds.

  1. I Put A Spell On You
  2. The Working Man
  3. Suzie Q
  4. Ninety-Nine And A Half (Won't Do)
  5. Get Down Woman
  6. Porterville
  7. Gloomy
  8. Walk On The Water

  • John Fogerty - Lead Guitar, Lead Vocals
  • Tom Fogerty - Rhythm Guitar, Backing Vocals
  • Stu Cook - Bass Guitar, Vocals
  • Doug Clifford - Drums, Vocals

No comments:

Post a Comment