Audience ‎– The House On The Hill (UK Edition)

Audience ‎– The House On The Hill UK Edition)
Release date:May 1971
Genre: Art Rock

"Audience" released their third album "The House On The Hill" in 1971.
A fantastic album which uses the flute, clarinet and sax stylings of Keith Gemmell to great effect, fans of early prog should not be put off by the fact Audience don't use keyboards - this has a big, lush sound worthy of any of the band's competitors like Rare Bird or Van der Graaf Generator. - though with a bit more jazz influence than either.
"You're Not Smiling" has a wonderful singalong chorus that could have packed the terraces during the glam era, and "I Had A Dream" is another wonderful song with a glorious gospel sound that is curiously catchy. Then there's an intriguing psychedelic "sinister folk" cover of Screaming Jay Hawkins' signature tune "I Put A Spell On You".The driving, brassy "Nancy" and "Eye To Eye", which really sounds like a spoof theme song of some 60s spy show, are probably the least memorable efforts, but they are not bad.

  1. Jackdaw
  2. You're Not Smiling
  3. I Had A Dream
  4. Raviole
  5. Nancy
  6. Eye To Eye
  7. I Put A Spell On You
  8. The House On The Hill

  • Tony Connor - Drums, Percussion, Vibes
  • Trevor Williams - Bass, Vocals
  • Howard Werth - Electric Classical Guitar, Vocals
  • Keith Gemmell - Tenor Saxophone, Clarinet, Flute
  • Robert Kirby - String Arrangement for "Raviole"
  • Members of the LSO - Strings on "Raviole"

No comments:

Post a Comment