Troyka ‎– Troyka

Troyka ‎– Troyka
Release date:1970
Genre: Progressive Rock

Rather unconventional for Edmonton at the time, Troyka's experimentation into psychadelic rock first began in the early 1960s when guitarist Rob Edwards and bassist Ron Lukawitski were barely teens and starting "The Ortegas". A few years later, they added England native guitarist and singer Michael Richards (originally a piano student), and reinvented themselves as "The Royal Family", after adding drummer Larry Brown.
Deciding their fortunes lay east, they temporarily moved to Montreal, and for the next year or so made waves, playing the Expo 67 Fair and also spending a lot of time in New York. They moved back to Edmonton and Edwards took over on drums.
Now a threesome, and with Lewitski coming up with the clever name 'Roman', they dubbed themselves Troyka (a three-wheeled horse carriage) in honour of their shared Slavic heritage and started playing the prairies. They coninued to do live shows while recording their material in Edwards' own studio his father/manager had built, Round Sound.
In 1970 released  them debut and last album "Troyka". The album combines elements of Hard Rock, Psychedelia, Folk, Traditional Ukrainian Music, Progressive Rock, Funk and Even Polish Spoken-Word Bits--all delivered with a sense of humor.

  1. Introduction
  2. Natural
  3. Early Morning
  4. Life's O.K.
  5. Burning Of The Witch
  6. Rub-A-Dub-Dub Troyka In A Tub
  7. Tryoka Lament
  8. Troyka Solo
  9. Rolling Down The Back Road
  10. Berry Picking
  11. Dear Margaret (Malgosia)
  12. Go East Young Man Beautiful Eyes
  13. Troyka Finale

  • Ron Lukawietsky - Bass, Bongos, Vocals
  • Robert Edwards - Guitar, Mandolin, Vocals
  • Mike Richards - Lead Vocals, Drums, Percussion

No comments:

Post a Comment