Chicago - Live In Japan (Japanese Edition)

Chicago - Live In Japan (Japanese Edition)
Release date:1972
Genre: Rock

"Live In Japan" recorded live at Osaka Festival Hall on June 10th, 11th & 14th 1972 on the band's tour in support of "Chicago V" album.
Originally, the album was released as a two-LP set, and only in Japan.
What makes this superior to the "Carnegie Hall" album? The sound, for one - the horns sound much better, the vocals aren't muffled, and it's easier to hear the bass.
There are fewer long guitar solos or flute improvs, as the band pretty much sticks to the recorded versions of the songs (probably because the songs are so well arranged in the first place).
And, it includes live versions of four "Chicago V" songs, the hits "Saturday In The Park" and "Dialogue" along with two of my favorite album cuts, "A Hit By Varese" (which includes one of trombonist James Pankow's goofiest solos) and "State Of The Union."
They also play "A Song For Richard And His Friends" with an overly-long Terry Kath "space" section, and an early version of "Mississippi Delta City Blues" which isn't all that different from the one that would be recorded on "Chicago XI".
Deadheads will recognize this practice of premiering a song live long before it was recorded.

Disc One
  1. Dialogue (Part I & II)
  2. A Hit By Varèse
  3. Lowdown (Japanese Version)
  4. State Of The Union
  5. Saturday In The Park
  6. Ballet For A Girl In Buchannon
  7. 1.Make Me Smile 2. So Much to Say, So Much to Give 3. Anxiety's Moment 4. West Virginia Fantasies 5. Colour My World 6. To Be Free 7. Now More Than Ever
  8. Beginnings
  9. Mississippi Delta City Blues
Disc Two
    1. A Song For Richard And His Friends
    2. Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is? (Free Form Intro)
    3. Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is?
    4. Questions 67 & 68 (Japanese Version)
    5. 25 Or 6 To 4
    6. I'm A Man
    7. Free

    • Robert Lamm - Keyboards, Vocals
    • Terry Kath - Guitar, Vocals
    • Peter Cetera - Bass, Vocals
    • Danny Seraphine - Antique Bells, Congas, Drums
    • Lee Loughnane - Trumpet, Background Vocals, Percussion
    • Walter Parazaider - Woodwinds, Percussion
    • James Pankow - Trombone, Percussion

    No comments:

    Post a Comment